Image
Two students chat with a chat member in Trinity's Front Quad.

Wellbeing at Trinity

Who's Who

Wellbeing Support

At Trinity

We would encourage any student experiencing difficulties to seek confidential help, as soon as possible, from any member of the wellbeing team or from anyone in College they have a good rapport with.

We understand that University life presents stressful challenges for students from backgrounds not usually represented at Trinity and Oxford. The College acknowledges that in our mostly white institution, the burdens of racism can be especially difficult to bear, and we encourage students struggling with those challenges to contact the wellbeing team on wellbeing@trinity.ox.ac.uk.

There are a number of staff and peer support roles in college who are here to support you. You can learn more about the resources they can offer below; there is also our college Who's Who poster.

Support from

College Staff

Student Wellbeing Advisors

The Wellbeing team works alongside other wellbeing provision in the College and can offer support, advice and guidance related to wellbeing, disability and welfare issues. They also deal with and act as the Disability Coordinator for the College and can advise on the support available. Support can be provided in person or remotely via email, telephone, and Microsoft Teams. 

The Wellbeing Advisors also act as Disability Coordinator, and the Disability Lead is Lynn Cross (Senior Wellbeing Advisor). 

College Counsellor

Jonathan Totman is a professional clinical psychologist and staff member of the University Counselling Service. He is available to see Trinity students on a Monday. Jonathan works one-to-one and occasionally runs small groups and workshops on topics relevant to student mental health and wellbeing. He will be offering counselling sessions online, on MS Teams.

For more information, please contact Jonathan Totman at jonathan.totman@admin.ox.ac.uk

College Doctors

The Summertown Health Centre is located in Summertown, north of the city centre. Students are expected to register with the surgery when they arrive in Oxford. The college doctors are Dr Kyle Knox and Dr Hannah Peters.

College Nurse

The College Nurse Chris Smith is based on site and is available by email or phone. She provides a triage-based service, with first contact being via email: trinitynurse@oxfordhealth.nhs.uk. Follow-up will be either in person, or via telephone or MS teams (NHS approved/meeting GDRP requirements).

Senior Tutor

The Senior Tutor Rebecca Bullard oversees the academic progress and general welfare of all undergraduate students. You can contact her to discuss concerns you might have about your academic progress.

The Dean

The Dean Stephen Fisher is responsible for all deacanal and disciplinary matters in college.

Academic Administrators

The Academic Office team, Ashley Maguire and Isabel Lough, are a good first port of call for students with any academic issues. You can reach them on mailtoacademic.administrator@trinity.ox.ac.uk

The Chaplain

The Revd. Dr Emma Percy is also the College's Prevent lead. Emma offers pastoral support to all members of the college whatever their faith or none and is trained in pastoral care. She can be contacted by email at Emma.percy@trinity.ox.ac.uk or by telephone on 01865 279886.

Peer

Support

Junior Deans

The Junior Deans are senior postgraduates with recognised experience in student wellbeing and welfare support. They work to a duty rota out of hours (7pm-7am) and are trained first aiders. f you have urgent wellbeing concerns out of hours, please inform the Lodge who can put you in touch with the duty Junior Dean for support.

Onsite Female Junior Dean: Sarina Martinez: sarena.martinez@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Onsite Male Junior Dean: Zachary Oliver: zachary.oliver@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Offsite Male Junior Dean (Nunnery): Dylan Sherman: dylan.sherman@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Offsite Female Junior Dean (Rawlinson): Rowan Anderson: rowan.anderson@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Offsite Male Junior Dean (Staverton): Ngoni Mugwisi: ngoni.mugwisi@eng.ox.ac.uk
Offsite Female Junior Dean (Staverton): Olena Chernovik: olena.chervonik@trinity.ox.ac.uk

JCR Welfare Officers

Your JCR Welfare Reps are full of information and useful resources- from confidential listening and comforting words to cupcakes, creative activities and condom supplies. They can act as your advocates and represent student welfare concerns at various College Committees and ad hoc meetings.

The JCR reps can be contacted by email at any time:

Lorna McEvoy:lorna.mcevoy@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Will Godfrey: william.godfrey@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Rhys Duncan: rhys.duncan@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Rose Faure: rose.faure@trinity.ox.ac.uk

MCR Welfare Rep

Your MCR Welfare Officer is available to their postgraduate and 4th year undergraduate (MCR) peers. They offer friendly, individual support and voice the wellbeing and welfare needs of the MCR on College Committees. This year's rep is Leonie Schneider, who can be contacted on leonie.schneider@trinity.ox.ac.uk

Peer Supporters

College peer supporters provide informal, friendly and confidential listening. They are trained by the University Counselling Service and are there to listen but not to advise. They work within clear boundaries to signpost you on to advice or help if you need it. Peer support sessions during COVID-19 will take place either on-line or socially distanced outside.

This year's peer supporters are:

Alice Agerbak: alice.agerback@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Matthew Hankins: matthew.hankins@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Caroline Von Lampe: caroline.vonlampe@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Joshua Rosen: joshua.rosen@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Carlotta Hartmann: carlotta.hartmann@trinity.ox.ac.uk

More

Support resources

Both Trinity College and Oxford University offer specialist support for situations including harassment, sexual violence and further mental health support.