Award in Material Sciences

Professor George Smith, Emeritus Fellow and former tutor in Materials, has been chosen as the 2017 recipient of the TMS’s prestigious William Hume-Rothery Award.

The award recognizes a scientific leader for exceptional scholarly contributions to the science of alloys by inviting the recipient to be an honoured presenter at the William Hume-Rothery Memorial Symposium.

It is named in honour of William Hume-Rothery, who was the patriarch of this field of research and was the founding professor of the Oxford Metallurgy Department. He was the head of department when George Smith came as an undergraduate to Oxford to study Metallurgy – in many respects Professor Smith followed in Hume-Rothery’s footsteps, and he was one of his successors as head of the department.  Professor Smith will be the first British recipient of the award in over ten years and it is very fitting that, in recognising his work, the award will come home to Oxford. The award will be conferred at the symposium in the spring of 2017.

The TMS (The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society), based in the United States, is an international organization that encompasses the entire range of materials and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials.

More news